Volume 2 Chapter 58: Sarah’s Past


Author: 夜州 (Yashu)

Previous | TOC | Raws | Next


Cain stayed in the bath for a while, then eventually returned to the guest room and went to sleep.

The next day, as he had school, he made to return back home as soon as possible after breakfast.

He was drinking black tea in the reception room with Eric after breakfast.

“Cain-kun, you’re really going home already?”

Cain nodded at Duke Eric’s question.

“Yes, I have to go to school, after all. Thank you for having me. I hope to see you again in the royal capital.”

“But still, [Transfer] sure is convenient. Although I heard it’s impossible to use unless you have an enormous amount of magical power…”

“One [Transfer] consumes tens of thousands, yes. So a normal magic user wouldn’t be able to use it.”

Upon hearing ‘tens of thousands’, Eric sighed, giving up.

“Gotcha. Transferring from here would be no big deal, right? Normally, I’d want you to leave the town first before using [Transfer], but I also kind of want to see it in action…”

“Understood. Then, I’ll be returning to the royal capital. Thank you for everything. See you in the royal capital, then.”

[Transfer]

Eric disappeared from in front of Cain, whose field of view had changed in an instant.

He had transferred to the office of the Silford Viscounty’s1 mansion.

“Quick, I’ve got to go to school, then, once that’s finished, I’ll go see mother…”

Thinking about Sarah’s shocking past, Cain changed into his school uniform, then went to school after having said hello to Koran and Silvia.

As he entered the classroom, Telestia and Silk were already there.

“Good morning, Cain-sama.”

“Morning, Cain-kun.”

“Teles, Silk, morning.”

Cain sat down in his seat after greeting the two of them.

“It’s nearly the summer holidays, eh… although you might not be able to come this year, Teles, this time Cain-kun will be coming along to the Malbeek territory. We have hot springs too… Teles, you like them a lot, don’t you?”

“Oh yeah, after being in those hot springs, I’m always nice and warmed up when I get out; they’re completely different from normal baths.”

Remembering the pleasantness of the hot springs he had been in only just the day before, Cain nodded along.

“They really felt– – they probably feel really good, don’t they…”

He stopped himself from blurting out that he had been in Malbeek the day before.

The two girls tilted their heads at Cain’s hurried correction.

He attended classes before noon, but as he didn’t have any electives after noon that day, he headed over to Margrave Silford’s mansion.

Greeting the guards, he went inside the mansion.

As Garm was in the royal castle, Sarah came to greet Cain.

“Ara, welcome. It’s unusual for you to be alone.”

“Mother, I came to talk to you about something. I’ll have to talk to father as well, but I’ll tell you first…”

Taking in Cain’s mysterious expression, Sarah guided him to the reception room.

They sat down face-to-face in the reception room. A maid brewed some tea for them, then left after she had finished.

“So, what did you want to talk about, just the two of us?”

Sarah inquired while Cain made a strange face.

Cain took out a letter from his [Item Box] and held it out to Sarah.

“This letter is?”

“While I was on my way to the Malbeek territory this weekend, I happened to help out a noble who was being attacked by robbers. It’s a letter from Viscount Santos von Geletta Danlof.”

Hearing the name, Sarah’s eyes widened in surprise.

“– –that’s my father. You found out about him, Cain? I’m the oldest daughter of the Geletta family…”

Cain nodded, and Sarah, with a slightly sad face, undid the wax seal on the envelope with a knife, then opened it and took out the letter.

As Sarah read the letter, Cain stayed quiet and stared at her.

Sarah read on, tears slowly welling up in her eyes. By the time she had finished reading the letter, tears were freely flowing from her eyes.

“I stayed a night at their mansion, and met your younger sister. Mother, you’re the splitting image of each other, so I even accidentally called out ‘mother’ when I first saw her before I realised what was actually going on.”

“Lara… so Lara’s child is a girl as well…”

“Yeah, she’s called Leela and she’s a little younger than me. Before it turned out I was your son, they even told me to ‘come marry into the family’.”

Cain said jokingly.

Sarah laughed at that, tears still in her eyes.

“That sounds like father all right, he’s the same as ever, eh… Did Garm get a letter too?”

“Yes, I’ll give it to him once he gets back.”

Sarah laid the letter on the table and sipped her tea.

“Let’s talk further when Garm gets back. And Reine, of course.”

“Understood. Then, I’ll be here until then.”

“Yes, that saves us all a lot of trouble. Explaining that all on my own…well… You’re the one it all happened to, after all, so of course you should be here too.”

Her tears from earlier had already disappeared, and her expression had returned to usual.

While they were waiting for Garm to return, Cain told her about what he did at school or in his mansion, happenings in Drintor, and other such things.

At finding out about Cain doing all kinds of unexpected and usually impossible things, Sarah laughed on, holding her stomach.

At some point, Reine came home, making the reception room even livelier with all sorts of different topics.

“Cain-kun, you never come to the mansion here. I might be busy with the student council, but can’t we play together occasionally?”

“Even if you say so, nee-sama, you seem quite busy though. I see you a lot at school, but you’re always going all over the place in a great hurry.”

“You’re always going to your territory on the weekends, so next time, could you take me as well?”

“I want to go to Drintor too. Count me in. I want to go see Alec too.”

Swept along by the two, Cain nodded reluctantly.

“We’re still in the process of developing everything, so there’s not much to see. I’ve left most of it to Alec-nii-sama. I’ll talk to Alec-nii-sama first, then we’ll decide upon a date for you two to come along, okay?”

As they continued talking amongst themselves, there was a knock on the door, and a maid told them that Garm had returned home.

“Could you bring him over here, please.”

The maid nodded at Sarah’s words and left the room to go call Garm.

It was not long before Garm stepped into the room.

Entering the room, he noticed that Cain was also there, and, wondering with a bitter smile what he had done this time, Garm sat down.

“Cain…did you do something again…”

“…I’m not the one we’re tal– –”

Stopping Cain with a wave of her hand, Sarah began talking.

“We’re talking about me, dear. I’ve hidden it up until now, but when we met, I told you I was Sarah, an adventurer, right? But I do have a family name. Cain, the letter, if you would.”

Cain nodded and, taking the letter out of his [Item Box], he handed it to Garm.

“This letter is?”

“I think you’ll understand if you read it.”

Garm inspected the wax seal on the letter.

“This coat-of-arms is…”

As Garm recognized the emblem there, he frowned.

“They’re my family. My maiden name is Sarah von Geletta. Viscount Santos’ oldest daughter.”

“What!!”

“Eh!?”

Garm and Reine were surprised.

“If you read that letter, you’ll understand.”

“– – all right.”

Garm unsealed the envelope and read the letter inside. While he was reading, he glanced at Cain and muttered ‘It was Cain again…’ before turning back to the letter.

Having read the whole thing, Garm put down the letter and sighed.

“Who would have thought you were Sir Santos’ daughter… So that’s why you didn’t really go to ceremonies and such.”

“Yes, even though I ran away from home, I’m still a noble’s daughter. And as we got married without you even greeting my parents’ family, I thought it would cause you trouble…”

“True, that certainly is an act contrary to normal etiquette. But still, to think you’re Sir Santos’ daughter…”

Garm and Sarah were getting worried about what to do from now on, so Cain raised his voice.

“About that, Sir Santos asked me if we could all go see them together next time… He said he would be able to rest easy if you showed him a cheerful face. He also wanted to meet Reine nee-sama.”

“Yeah… Then, I’ll have to go greet them properly. However, I would have to leave the royal capital for a few days in order to do that. Naturally, I can’t just leave the royal capital without explaining why to His Majesty.”

Garm had a job in the royal capital. Although it had turned out that his wife, who up until now he had thought had been an adventurer, was actually a noble, simply wanting to go see her family was not enough of an explanation for him to be allowed to leave the royal capital.

“If that’s the case… I’ve already registered a point there, so we can go there in an instant if I use [Transfer]…”

““…””

“We had that option available too, huh.”

Garm nodded, but Sarah and Reine didn’t quite understand what was going on.

“Cain-kun, with transfer, do you mean that magic that appears in stories about the Hero and other myths? How come you can use such magic?”

“Eh” “Ah”

The voices of Cain and Garm overlapped.

The two of them had ‘oh boy, now we’ve gone and done it’ written on their faces, but it was already too late.

“Garm dear, Cain-kun, what is the meaning of this…”

Sarah, now with a completely different facial expression to earlier stared at them with a cold gaze that seemed to bore into them, making Garm and Cain break out in a cold sweat.

“No, well, His Majesty told us not to say anything about it, as it’s a state secret…”

“– – dear, why are state secrets coming up in a family conversation? I think we need to have a long talk after this.”

Sarah smiled sweetly, to which Garm averted his eyes and instead glanced at Cain.

Cain made a resigned face and shook his head.

“– – mother, it’s only once a day, but I am able to use my huge amount of magical power to transfer somewhere. So, come weekend, we’ll be going to Danlof with that.”

Actually, his magic power wouldn’t be exhausted no matter how many times he used that magic, but Cain thought it would be easier to convince her like that.

Garm nodded at Cain’s explanation, albeit with some suspicious behaviour.

“Right, Cain-kun did have an extraordinary amount of magical power, now that you mention it. But still, to be able to use the legendary transfer magic, how you’ve grown up, Cain.”

Sarah was impressed at Cain’s growth.

“All right, then, we’re going to Danlof next weekend. I do have to apologise for running away from home all those years ago, after all.”

And with that statement, it was decided that they would go to the town of Danlof the following weekend.


1It says barony/baron family/baron house (男爵家), but he’s already a viscount, so I guess the author made a mistake there?


Previous | TOC | Raws | Next

10 thoughts on “Volume 2 Chapter 58: Sarah’s Past

  1. Jajaja no importa el mundo siempre abra mujeres que saben dominar a los hombres con solo una mirada jajajaja me recordó a seto que lo puede con su esposa solo que en este caso no le echaron de su casa

    Liked by 1 person

  2. “It says barony/baron family/baron house (男爵家), but he’s already a viscount, so I guess the author made a mistake there?”

    it’s the mansion at the capital that he received when he became baron, so, it’s his baron house technically

    his viscount house is the one he got in his territory, not the one he got at the capital

    Like

    1. yeah, it just was never mentioned that it was “the mansion he had received as a baron” in the sentence but instead “the Silford barony’s mansion”
      “シルフォード男爵家の屋敷の執務室に転移した。” is the sentence in Japanese, if you’re interested

      Like

      1. For clarity, they really should have just referred to them by physical location. (“Capital mansion”, “Drintor mansion”).

        Like

  3. Consider revising:

    “I stayed a night at their mansion, and met your younger sister, mother. You’re the splitting image of each other, so I even accidentally called out ‘mother’ when I first saw her before I realised what was actually going on.” -> “I stayed a night at their mansion and met your younger sister. Mother, you’re the spitting image of each other, so I even accidentally called out ‘mother’ when I first saw her before I realised what was actually going on.”

    Thanks.

    Like

    1. yessir, here’s the edit you requested, along with a pizza and non-alcoholic beverage

      I don’t think it’s that big of a deal tbh, but seeing as you pointed it out, I might as well change it

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started