Volume 5 Chapter 14: The Demon’s True Identity


Author: 夜州 (Yashu)

Previous | TOC | Raws | Next


As the shout to begin was given, Garms approached the demon bit by bit, holding his sword.

Glancing at her hand with a bitter look, the demon tried to distance herself from him.

“Huh, I thought demons were good at magic…”

Cain whispered, to which the maid standing behind him started explaining.

“We have erected a barrier, and just in case especially strong magic that could even damage the audience is used, there’s also a magic-sealing bracelet that has been put on the demon. I believe with it, the demon can only use no more than ten percent of its power.”

“…Is that so… Thank you.”

Thanking the maid for her explanation, Cain looked at the demon again.

There was a metal bracelet on her wrist.

(That, huh… It’ll be alright if I can free her from it, but how…)

Garms closed in, sword at the ready, but the demon/woman ran away, trying to create distance between them.

However, as expected of an S-Rank adventurer, Garms, who had swung his sword, changed its trajectory in the direction she was running away in in a split second.

While a piece of her clothing was cut off, she managed to duck and avoid it.

“Hmm, you’re quite good. As expected of a demon…”

“If it weren’t for this bracelet, I would turn your kind into ashes in mere seconds…”

Even while looking bitterly at the bracelet on her arm, she stayed cautious of Garms.

She used fire magic, making head-sized lumps of fire appear. The three such lumps of fire flew straight at Garms the instant they appeared.

“Just this. Huh.”

Garms slashed through the lumps of fire in an instant.

After that, it became a one-sided offensive by Garms.

The audience became more and more excited, while the students, who were also looking on, frowned more and more.

They had been excited during the fights with monsters as well, however, demons’ appearances weren’t that much different from humans’.

Their faces all a matching pale, Telestia and the others watched on, covering their mouths with their handkerchiefs.

Gradually, the demon fell more and more victim to Garms’ blade.

She had cuts everywhere, her bleeding staining the ground.

Unable to watch on any longer, Cain said ‘I’ve got to step out for a moment,’ and left the room.

Then, he went to the toilet.

A few minutes afterwards.

A silver-masked, black-hooded person wearing a black cloak suddenly appeared in the very middle of the arena.

Seeing a person suddenly appear out of nowhere, the spectators exclaimed in surprise.

“There’s a sudden inturdeeeeeeer!! There shouldn’t have been anyone there, so how!?”

The commentator’s voice echoed around the spectators’ seats.

Garms, however, wasn’t fazed at all, and called out to the man.

“What’s this? Did you come to disturb the show…? Then, should I clear you up first?”

He swung his sword at the man to cut him apart, but the man dodged by taking a single step backwards.

Then, flying a little backwards to gain some distance and landing, the man finally spoke.

“I have come to get this demon woman. If something were to happen to her, it would probably –––– lead to a war between demons and humans.”

“…Hmm? You’ve got quite the young voice. You’re still –– just a kid… And a war, you say. Isn’t that nice. I can swing my sword as much as I want.”

The man sighed at the grinning Garms.

“That would be a problem though. In many ways… And if a war happens, this country will be destroyed, no? Quite easily, I might add.”

“……Are you a demon too? To know that much.”

“…because I have acquaintances among them.”

“Well, that’ll be a no. I’ll deal with you first then.”

With those final words, Garms let his killing intent loose. Then, he closed in on the man in an instant.

“I guess it can’t be helped, huh…”

Muttered the man, and grabbed the sword rapidly descending from head-height with one hand.

“Wh-!?”

At that moment, the man stepped up to Garms and punched him in the stomach.

Garms’ body bent into a less-than sign1, and, after flying ten or more meters through the air, he hit the ground, unconscious.

“What just happened!? Just who is the hooded man!? To beat Garms in one hit!!”

The spectators, thinking it was just an event to liven up the mood, cheered loudly.

Then, the hooded man approached the demon. Then, he stopped a couple of steps away from her.

“You are –– not a demon? You’re a human, just like them. Why did you help me…?”

The man answered the demon, who was trying to lessen the bleeding from her arm.

“I have some acquaintances among demons. So, could you please come with me, just this once? I want to cast healing magic too. That bracelet must be a pain too.”

“Indeed… Perhaps I should go with you, even though I do not know your name. Staying here would lead to the same results, if worse came to worst.”

Still wearing his hood, the man nodded lightly, then, putting his hand on her shoulder, the two of them disappeared in an instant with ‘Transfer’.

The only one left behind there was the unconscious Garms.

◇◇◇

The destination of their Transfer was a reception room nobody would ever reach from where they had been.

“Quite the splendid room, if I may say so. What might your goal be, bringing me to such a place?”

At the woman’s question, the man lowered his hood and took off his mask.

The woman’s eyes widened at seeing the man’s true identity.

Unfazed, Cain smiled.

“First, I’ll cast healing magic. [High Heal] With just those injuries, this should be enough.”

“…To think you were still a young boy. And you’re able to use even transfer magic at that age… I am very thankful.”

Checking her wounds were healed, the woman thanked Cain with a smile.

“Also, with that bracelet, you can’t use magic, right? I’ll remove it. This is my house, so please don’t destroy it though.”

“I am not that ungrateful. Should I have to protect myself though…”

Cain used magic to remove the spell on the bracelet, which fell to the floor innocently.

Cain then urged the woman to sit down on the sofa, and sat down opposite her.

“First off, let’s introduce ourselves. I’m Cain von Silford Drintor. I’m a count in the Kingdom of Esfort. It’s the neighbouring country of the Republic of Ilstin, where we just were. You can just call me Cain.”

“Then I will. My name is… Lisabeth van Benestos. However, I will permit you to call me Lisa.”

“Then, I’ll call you Lisa. I’ll have my butler make tea; he’ll be here any time now, I expect.”

Simultaneously with Cain’s words, there was a knock on the door.

Cain gave permission to enter, and the door opened and Darmeshia came in.

“Cain-sama, you’re back. And there’s a… guest…”

Simultaneously with those words, Darmeshia went down on one knee and bowed his head.


1 < or a “ku” (く) in Japanese


Previous | TOC | Raws | Next

21 thoughts on “Volume 5 Chapter 14: The Demon’s True Identity

  1. If I was cain I would summon seth/seto and let him say is this how you treat the p*****ss of our kingdom then I would ask him take take her back to my mansion

    Like

  2. Jajaja sabia que ella era importante no se tengo la sospecha de que ella es la hija de seto o sino almenos una pariente

    Like

    1. I can’t believe that asshole Garm, he’s willing to start a war by harming the demon girl just so he can swing his sword around? He is such an idiot, he doesn’t even realize that the demons would obliterate Iltsin if war were to come. It’s a good thing that Cain showed up and saved Lisa not only for her own sake but for the sake of peace between humans and demons as well. She’s clearly a Princess so if any harm came to her the humans would be in big trouble wouldn’t you say?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Well he’s an S rank so with that attitude, that’s more than you’d expect. Just because he reached a high rank he probably thinks he’s the strongest hero there is. Until he was bent like this “1” and sent flying lmao

        Like

  3. I love his way of doing things, he just used a magic he’s the only one that knows how to use, in front of 2 people that know, and a stadium full of people that don’t.

    I wonder if his fiancées will know or how things will develop, it’s weird because it depends on the mood of the author and what the punch line is gonna be.

    Also… did he just casually defeat an S-ranker in one punch? hahahahaha

    Liked by 2 people

    1. If I remember correctly he oneshotted the SSS rank Rock Dragon with an elementary wind spell… not even intermediate… and the Gods thought it was a good idea to teach him God level magic 😀

      Liked by 3 people

  4. O.o D-darmeshia?!
    who is she actually?

    thank you for the chapters~
    stay safe and healthy everyone!

    Like

    1. Seto’s sister or daughter ?
      I mean the former heavenly King won’t bow to anyone other than Demon king’s family, right ?

      Like

  5. I kinda want to see a blockade happening on Tanbaal, which would be utterly useless since transfer has no distance limit 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started